Watch Queen + Adam Lambert’s Powerful Opening Performance at the Oscars

Watch Queen + Adam Lambert’s Powerful Opening Performance at the Oscars

Queen was everywhere on Sunday night at the Academy Awards — but hours before Rami Malek took home the coveted Best Actor in a Leading Role for his portrayal of Freddie Mercury in the smash-hit biopic Bohemian Rhapsody, the band took the stage for a rollicking opening performance.

Brian May, Roger Taylor and vocalist Adam Lambert led the charge through “We Will Rock You/We Are the Champions,” which is just about the most powerful way to start out Hollywood’s biggest night of the year, isn’t it?

Bohemian Rhapsody then took home four awards: Best Sound Mixing, Best Film Editing, Best Sound Editing and Malek’s Best Actor award — for which he delivered a pretty great acceptance speech.

Just another big night for the band, which has quite a momentous past year or so. Click here for a full recap of all the Oscar winners.

Queen + Adam Lambert will head out on a 23-date tour later this summer, as announced in December. The schedule:

Fri Jul 19 – Los Angeles, CA – The Forum
Tue Jul 23 – Dallas, TX – American Airlines Center
Wed Jul 24 – Houston, TX – Toyota Center
Sat Jul 27 – Detroit, MI – Little Caesars Arena
Sun Jul 28 – Toronto, ON – Scotiabank Arena
Tue Jul 30 – Washington, DC – Capital One Arena
Wed Jul 31 – Pittsburgh, PA – PPG Paints Arena
Sat Aug 03 – Philadelphia, PA – Wells Fargo Center
Sun Aug 04 – Boston, MA – Xfinity Center
Tue Aug 06 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden
Fri Aug 09 – Chicago, IL – United Center
Sat Aug 10 – St. Paul, MN – Xcel Energy Center
Tue Aug 13 – Columbus, OH – Nationwide Arena
Thu Aug 15 – Nashville, TN – Bridgestone Arena
Sat Aug 17 – Ft. Lauderdale, FL – BB&T Center
Sun Aug 18 – Tampa, FL – Amalie Arena
Tue Aug 20 – New Orleans, LA – Smoothie King Center
Thu Aug 22 – Atlanta, GA – State Farm Arena
Fri Aug 23 – Charlotte, NC – Spectrum Center

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.