Keith Richards is Reissuing His Debut Solo LP, 1988’s ‘Talk is Cheap’

Keith Richards is Reissuing His Debut Solo LP, 1988’s ‘Talk is Cheap’

In 1988, Keith Richards struck out on his own and released Talk is Cheap, a solo album forged out of the disconnect the Rolling Stones guitar legend had with vocalist Mick Jagger at the time. The result was an album that received a pretty positive reception, and to mark its 30th anniversary the man they call “Keef” will reissue it in grand fashion later this year.

The new set will be released on March 29 in a variety of formats: CD (click here), vinyl (click here), deluxe vinyl box set (click here) and digitally.

The Deluxe Box Set has a number of goodies in addition to the album itself:

• Contents are cased in an exquisite deluxe folio pack
• Remastered 180g LP album
• 180g LP of bonus material – Features 6 never before released tracks
• 7” single Take It So Hard / I Could Have Stood You Up
• 7” single Make No Mistake / It Means A Lot
• Remastered CD album
• CD containing bonus material – Features 6 never before released tracks featuring Mick Taylor, Bootsy Collins, & Johnnie Johnson
• Extensive 80 page hardback book with Anthony DeCurtis written essay featuring a new interview with Keith, including extensive rare and unseen photos from personal archives.
• Tour laminate
• 2X lyric sheets
• Reproduction Talk is Cheap playback invite
• Talk is Cheap tour guitar pick
• 2x posters

As Keith’s site outlines the album:

In 1988, on a break from his band the Rolling Stones, Keith Richards released his first ever solo album, Talk Is Cheap. This universally respected debut is an eleven track masterclass in everything that’s good about rock ‘n roll and features guest appearances from an all-star cast including Sarah Dash, Bootsy Collins, Maceo Parker, the Memphis Horns, Patti Sciafia and Mick Taylor.  Remastered from the original tapes by Richards’ collaborator, Steve Jordan, the album’s joyous swagger is re-energised and permeates through each and every song.

Talk Is Cheap sounds as good today as it did thirty years ago; in Keith’s words: “As fresh as the day it was made.”

As for the original version of the album, revisit it below via Spotify:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.