Out Now: ‘Roads Less Travelled,’ the New Album from Iconic Jethro Tull Guitarist Martin Barre (Listen)

Out Now: ‘Roads Less Travelled,’ the New Album from Iconic Jethro Tull Guitarist Martin Barre (Listen)

Martin Barre, best-known for his guitar work with Jethro Tull, released his new solo album, Roads Less Travelled on Cleopatra Records on Oct. 12. Barre has developed his own distinctive style within the framework of Jethro Tull, and his instantly recognizable and original sound form the basis of this album. Roads Less Travelled features 11 original tracks by Barre, which reflect the last 50 years of his esteemed musical career.

Reflecting on the tracks & recording of the album, Barre says, “I’ve concentrated on improving my songwriting over the last few years and as a result, I am really pleased with this new CD. Although my playing has a lot of space in the music, I’ve worked a lot harder on the arrangements and lyrics. My goal is to have a CD that keeps the listener from beginning to end. Roads Less Travelled reflects my belief in taking music somewhere new.”

Barre’s solo on Jethro Tull’s 1971 hit Aqualung has been repeatedly voted as one of the top guitar solos of all-time. Barre has been cited as an important influence by many virtuoso players, including Joe Bonamassa, Steve Vai & Joe Satriani and can count the likes of Mark Knopfler and Geddy Lee amongst his many fans.

Here’s the track listing for the album, a strong addition to Barre’s catalog:

1. “Lone Wolf”
2. “Out of Time”
3. “On My Way”
4. “Roads Less Travelled”
5. “Badcore Blues”
6. “Seattle”
7. “For No Man”
8. “(This Is) My Driving Song”
9. “You Are An Angel”
10. “Trinity”
11. “And The Band Played On”

Stream the album below, via Spotify or Apple Music:

While all the songs showcase his exceptional electric guitar, acoustic guitar and mandolin playing, the Martin Barre Band also shine throughout. A long-time resident of Devon, Barre’s band features several local musicians: Dan Crisp (vocals), Alan Thomson (bass/fretless bass), Darby Todd (drums), Becca Langsford (vocals/backing vocals), Josiah J (Percussion/Hammond), Aaron Graham (drums), Alex Hart (vocals/backing vocals) Buster Cottam (“stand up” bass).

To learn more, visit the Martin Barre Band at www.martinbarre.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.