Out June 8: ‘The Beach Boys with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra,’ Recorded at Abbey Road

Out June 8: ‘The Beach Boys with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra,’ Recorded at Abbey Road

On June 9, a special new release pairing several classic Beach Boys songs with the pristine arrangements of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra will be released.

Titled, simply, The Beach Boys with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, this new studio compilation features the Beach Boys’ original vocal recordings with new symphonic touches recorded by the Orchestra at Abbey Road Studios in London.

It will be available digitally, on CD and in LP formats. Here’s a preview, in the form of “Fun, Fun, Fun”:

Preview the project below:

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra went to Abbey Road in early March to record for the album, which features many of the iconic group’s signature songs.

Said Brian Wilson of this project: “I always knew the vocal arrangements I did back in the 1960s would lend themselves perfectly for a symphony and there is no better one in the world than the Royal Philharmonic. I am both proud and humbled by what they have created using our songs and I hope everyone falls in love with it like I have.”

And Mike Love:

“This album is one of a kind. I think the fact that the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra has accompanied The Beach Boys with these great arrangements is just a phenomenal thing. It’s a whole other dimension to our music.”

Pre-orders are up now at this link.

The track listing:

  1. “California Suite”
  2. “California Girls”
  3. “Wouldn’t It Be Nice”
  4. “Fun, Fun, Fun”
  5. “Don’t Worry Baby”
  6. “God Only Knows”
  7. “Sloop John B”
  8. “Heroes And Villains”
  9. “Disney Girls”
  10. “Here Today”
  11. “In My Room”
  12. “Kokomo”
  13. “The Warmth Of The Sun”
  14. “Darlin’”
  15. “Help Me, Rhonda”
  16. “You Still Believe In Me”
  17. “Good Vibrations”

If you missed it, click here to enjoy our exclusive hour-long RockCellarTV interview with Mike Love.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.