Goo Goo Dolls Announce Special Tour for 20th Anniversary of ‘Dizzy Up the Girl’

Goo Goo Dolls Announce Special Tour for 20th Anniversary of ‘Dizzy Up the Girl’

One of the most successful albums of the late 1990s, the Goo Goo DollsDizzy Up the Girl, celebrates its 20th anniversary this year — and the band will commemorate the occasion with a special tour slated for the fall.

The album yielded massive hits that are still in heavy rotation today, from the Grammy-nominated “Iris” to “Black Balloon” and “Slide,” making it truly one of the most important albums of the era.

Dizzy Up the Girl sold upwards of six million copies globally and went four-times platinum in the U.S. alone.

Goo Goo Dolls will perform the album in its entirety each night of this special tour, adding in other hits from their iconic career and “special surprises,” as well. Here’s a fun video promoting the tour:

The dates:

Sun., September 30                   Phoenix, AZ                              The Van Buren

Tues., October 2                       Houston, TX                              House of Blues

Wed., October 3                        Dallas, TX                                 House of Blues

Fri., October 5                           Saint Louis, MO                         The Pageant

Sat., October 6                          Indianapolis, IN                         Old National Centre

Sun., October 7                         Nashville, TN                             Ryman Auditorium

Tues., October 9                       Atlanta, GA                               The Tabernacle

Wed., October 10                      Charlotte, NC                            The Fillmore Charlotte

Fri., October 12                         Philadelphia, PA                        The Fillmore

Sat., October 13                        Washington, DC                        The Anthem

Mon., October 15                       New York, NY                           Beacon Theatre

Tues., October 16                      Red Bank, NJ                            Count Basie Theatre

Wed., October 17                      Boston, MA                               House of Blues

Fri., October 19                         Buffalo, NY                               Shea’s Performing Arts Center

Sat., October 20                        Buffalo, NY                               Shea’s Performing Arts Center

Sun., October 21                       Toronto, ON                              Rebel Complex

Tues., October 23                      Detroit, MI                                 The Fillmore

Wed., October 24                      Grand Rapids, MI                      20 Monroe Live

Fri., October 26                         Chicago, IL                               Chicago Theater

Sat., October 27                        Minneapolis, MN                        State Theater

Sun., October 28                       Kansas City, MO                       Uptown Theater

Tues., October 30                      Denver, CO                               Paramount Theater

Thurs., November 1                   Salt Lake City, UT                     The Depot

Sat., November 3                      Seattle, WA                               The Paramount Theater

Thurs., November 8                   San Diego, CA                          House of Blues

Fri., November 9                       Los Angeles, CA                       Hollywood Palladium

Sat., November 18                     Las Vegas, NV                          The Joint

The Goo Goo Dolls’ most recent studio album was 2016’s Boxes, which featured the single “So Alive.” Bassist/vocalist Robby Takac spoke with us about that album and the band’s career in an interview — click here to read that.

Tickets for the 2018 tour will go on sale Friday, April 13.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.