Roger Daltrey Releasing Solo Album ‘As Long As I Have You’ 6/1, Featuring Pete Townshend on Guitar

Roger Daltrey Releasing Solo Album ‘As Long As I Have You’ 6/1, Featuring Pete Townshend on Guitar

Roger Daltrey of the Who has been working on a new solo album, and it’ll be released on June 1 under the title As Long As I Have You. It’ll be his eighth proper solo studio album and the first since 1992’s Rocks in the Head. His most recent non-The Who release was 2014’s Going Back Home, a collaborative project with Wilko Johnson.

The new record was produced by Dave Eringa, known for his work with the Manic Street Preachers. Daltrey’s pal Pete Townshend also lends his contribution to the album in the form of guitar work on seven songs, while Mick Talbot plays keys and Sean Genockey adds guitars to additional songs as well.

As Long As I Have You will feature original songs written by Daltrey as well as some covers of songs Daltrey considers influential and important to his development as a musician over the years, including Nick Cave’s “Into My Arms,” Stevie Wonder’s “You Haven’t Done Nothing,” and Stephen Stills “How Far,” among others.

Said Daltrey of As Long As I Have You:

“This is a return to the very beginning, to the time before Pete [Townshend] started writing our songs, to a time when we were a teenage band playing soul music to small crowds in church halls. That’s what we were, a soul band. And now, I can sing soul with all the experience you need to sing it. Life puts the soul in. I’ve always sung from the heart but when you’re 19, you haven’t had the life experience with all its emotional trials and traumas that you have by the time you get to my age. You carry all the emotional bruises of life and when you sing these songs, those emotions are in your voice. You feel the pain of a lost love. You feel it and you sing it and that’s soul. For a long time, I’ve wanted to return to the simplicity of these songs, to show people my voice, a voice they won’t have heard before. It felt like the right time. It’s where I am, looking back to that time, looking across all those years but also being here, now, in the soulful moment.”

The album is up for pre-order now, and here’s its track listing:

“As Long As I Have You”
“How Far”
“Where Is A Man To Go?”
“Get On Out Of The Rain”
“I’ve Got Your Love”
“Into My Arms”
“You Haven’t Done Nothing”
“Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind”
“Certified Rose”
“The Love You Save”
“Always Heading Home”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.